On 21 May, more than 35,500 runners descended onto Dataran Merdeka to take part in the most iconic running event in Malaysia – the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2017. This is the 9th edition of SCKLM which has now become an eagerly awaited event by local and international runners.

Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2017 Race Winners

The Kenyan runners dominated the top 9 places in the men’s open full marathon category, while the women’s open full marathon category was ruled by 8 Kenyans and 2 Ethiopians.

Cosmas Matolo Muteti came in first in the full marathon men’s open category, followed by five time champion Kennedy Kiproo Lilan and Tonui Kiprop.

In the women’s open category, Kenyan’s Elizabeth Chepkanan and Vikoti Chepkemoi came in first and second respectively while Zeritu Begashaw Wakijira from Ethiopia had to settle for third.

The full marathon Malaysian Men’s category saw a tough competition between defending champion Muhaizar Mohamad and Leo Tan Huong Leong. Muhaizar won this year’s race with an improved time and personal best of 2:35:55. Leo came second in a time of 2:38:05 and Ow Yong Jin Kuang came in third in 2:43:45.

Yuan Yufang finished the race in a time of 3:22:59 in the full marathon Malaysian women’s category, while Loh Chooi Fern clocked 3:25:55 to come in second and Chua Khit Yeng got third place in a time of 3:33:47.

For the marathon open category, the prize money is USD 17,500 (1st place), USD 7,500 (2nd place) and USD 5,000 (3rd place). For the marathon Malaysian categories, the prize money is MYR 20,000 (1st place), MYR 10,000 (2nd place) and MYR 5,000 (3rd place).

Full Marathon 42km Men – Open

  1. Cosmas Matolo Muteti (KENYA) – 2:18:42
  2. Kennedy Kiproo Lilan (KENYA) – 2:19:34
  3. Tonui Kiprop (KENYA) – 2:20:37

Full Marathon 42km Women – Open

  1. Elizaberth Chepkanan (KENYA) – 2:36:13
  2. Vicoty Chepkemoi (KENYA) – 2:40:07
  3. Zeritu Begashaw Wakijira (ETHIOPIA) – 2:42:55

Full Marathon 42km Men – Malaysians

  1. Muhaizar Mohamad – 2:35:55
  2. Tan Huong Leong – 2:38:05
  3. Ow Yong Jin Kuang – 2:43:45

Full Marathon 42km Women – Malaysian

  1. Yuan Yufang – 3:22:59
  2. Loh Chooi Fern – 3:25:55
  3. Chua Kit Yeng – 3:33:47

This year Standard Chartered KL Marathon featured six race distances – Kids Dash (3km and 1km), 5km, 10km, Half Marathon and Full Marathon.

Aidan H.

Aidan is the Editor-in-Chief of RunSociety. With more than a decade of editorial and marketing experience working with over thousands of writers. Aidan has also written for several popular websites reaching millions of readers. Recognised as an expert on the web, his focus is to oversee RunSociety’s Creativity Channel, spanning a wide range of inspirational and enriching topics daily to the community. Get in touch with him if you have something to say, or want to weigh in on an interesting topic at hello@runsociety.com.

Comments are closed.

Exit mobile version