Races · Singapore · 4,000 Participants

Mizuno Ekiden 2017 Race Results: Shufflers and F1 Runners Emerged 1st Position

by On Aug 20, 2017

Thousands gathered for an evening of sports, food, drinks and fun at The Promontory.

Mizuno Ekiden 2017 Race Results

Nearly 4,000 runners gathered at The Promontory @ Marina Bay for the third edition of Mizuno Ekiden which took place yesterday evening, 19 August (Saturday). Emphasising on teamwork and camaraderie, participants completed the run as a team of four amidst loud cheers from supporters and spectators.

Flagging off at 4.30 p.m., the full-fledged Ekiden race returned for its third year in Singapore. Runners were greeted to a Japanese-themed carnival prior to their race with the beats of Taiko drums.

The Ambassador of Japan in Singapore, His Excellency Mr Kenji Shinoda graced the event and flagged off all race categories in the afternoon.

Mizuno Ekiden 2017 Race Results

Photo Credit: Mizuno Ekiden 2017

Mizuno Ekiden 2017 Race Results

For the 21.1KM Corporate Category, the fierce competition this year saw Team COL, consisting of Mr Cleeve Mu, Mr Ramesh Palaniandy, Mr Yew Meng Tan and Mr Zainul Arrifin, clinch the top prize of over SGD$2,000 worth of cash and vouchers. The quartet representing Singapore Prison Service completed their race in 1 hour 24 minutes and defended their first place win from last year’s race. They have been winners of the same category since the race inception.

In other categories, the quartet of Mark Callon, Takuya Sawada, Creighton Connolly, Yuta Suda won the 42.195KM Open Category with a timing of 2 hours 36 minutes while team F1 Runners won the 21.1KM Open Category with a timing of 1 hour 20 minutes.

42.195km Open Category

Position Team Name Name Timing
1st Shufflers 1 Mark Callon
Takuya Sawada
Creighton Connolly
Yuta Suda
2 hours 36 minutes
2nd Nepal Hum Bahadur Gurung
Khemraj Rai
Lekh Raj Thapa Magar
Suresh Tilija
2 hours 38 minutes
3rd Gurkha B Keshar Bdr Budhamagar
Yam Bahadur Saru
Sujan Sunuwar
Tapendra Bahadur Thapa
2 hours 43 minutes

21.1km Open Category

Position Team Name Name Timing
1st Mizuno Team 02 Jacky Ong
Tuck Seng Chee
Alan Cao
Vanja Cnops
1 hour 20 minutes
2nd Fat Men United Issac Tan
Yew Chong Neo
Charles Kwong
Zorndrix Dass
1 hours 25 minutes
3rd TRF Zhi Kai Lee
Bryan Ho
Yang Zhi Dai
Aloysius Leng
1 hours 27 minutes

21.1km Corporate Category

Position Team Name Name Timing
1st Team COL Yew Meng Tan
Zainul Arrifin
Cleeve Mu
Ramesh Palaniandy
1 hour 24 minutes
2nd ARC Team A Tiong Loong Tew
Claudio Chua
Heidizayat Tapsir
Dane Huang
1 hours 26 minutes
3rd SMBCTORUN Haruki Nakashima
Yugo Takamatsu
Yusuke Tsuboi
Ken Hiratani
1 hours 28 minutes

For other results, you can check it here.

Mizuno Ekiden 2017 Race Results

Photo Credit: Mizuno Ekiden 2017

The evening concluded with runners from all categories gathering at the Matsuri Race Village for an array of Japanese food, exciting games and performances.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent those of RunSociety.

We work with our partners to bring insight, meaningful and the latest news, information and updates in the world of running to you in record-breaking fashion.

No. of Posts
Join the Discussion